Ben Franklin boys top Vandebilt in overtime

Miles McGwire gave Ben Franklin another chance.

And Olivier Dejoie gave the Falcons another title.

McGwire scored in stoppage time to force overtime and Dejoie scored in the 97th minute to give Ben Franklin a thrilling 3-2 victory over Vandebilt Catholic in the Division II championship game at Tad Gormley Stadium.

“I just had to score,” said Dejoie, a junior. “I wasn’t nervous or anything. The seniors were counting so much on me. I had to do it. I don’t even know what to say right now.”

The victory, coupled with the girls victory over St. Thomas More earlier Thursday, made Ben Franklin just the sixth time a school won both girls and boys titles in the same season.

The last time it happened was in 2004 when, you guessed it, Ben Franklin pulled off the feat.

Slidell accomplished the rare double in 1992 and Newman did it three times (1999, 2001 and 2005).

But this was the first one with the same head coach.

“Doing a double is great for the Franklin family,” Ben Franklin coach Jose Ferrand said. “Our kids played their hearts out. We were down 2-1 and came back and tied it. They just kept fighting and believing.”

It didn’t look good for the Falcons late, but McGwire saved the day with his goal in stoppage time.

“I just knew one more chance was going to come up, and it did,” McGwire said. “I knew I had to finish that goal for my team.”

It was the second goal for McGwire, who was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.

His first goal came in the fifth minute on a cross from Chris Chatters. But the Terriers answered quickly.

Jason Gautreaxu scored on a corner kick from Adam Farrar in the 11th minute

The had a chance to score again off a Farrar corner kick in the 22nd minute, but the shot sailed wide to the left.

Vandebilt took its first lead in stoppage time of the first half when Chris Wood scored on a penalty kick (after a handball in the penalty box).

The game stayed that way until McGwire’s clutch goal at the end of regulation.

Tradition-rich Vandebilt Catholic has now lost in its past four trips to the championship games after also losing in 2008, 2010 and 2011.

They were going for their eighth title and looked well on their way before McGwire’s goal in stoppage time.

The Terriers finished the season 17-6-4 and are 7-7 in state championship games. They last won when they three-peated in 2005, 2006 and 2007.

Ben Franklin finished the season 17-6.

“A No. 8 seed team winning a state championship,” Ferrand said. “What can you say about that.”